Functionality permissions are granted when adding new users.
By applying functionality permissions on a user account, the user's access can be restricted against 3 specific areas that have a direct impact to the access or amendment of data around the system.
Refer to Setting up New Users if adding user accounts.
The three key areas of the system affected are:
1. Control Panel -
Granting permission will allow the user to access the customisable and set up functionalities in the Control Panel such as (see below):
Functionalities including User management / Create & Delete custom objects / Create & delete product types / Integrations / Upgrading & degrading plan types/ Billing details are available in the Control Panel.
3. Bulk update